rules|


Ode To Rules – A Tale Of Modern Times

 

 

 

 

Ode To Rules

 

 

 

I don’t like rules

especially when it comes to art

You can call me a primadonna

If you want to

 

 

Sometimes the rules

are easier to follow

if they come with an explanation

 

 

from my experience

rules without an explanation

are often forgotten

and seldom followed

 

 

Any parents here

I think you’ll know what I mean

 

 

Sometimes even with

an explanation

they may not be followed

 

 

when marketing a product

a 60 second commercial

must repeat the phrase

20 times for it to

possibly be remembered

 

 

No wonder rules

don’t stand a chance

 

 

I love my fellow poets

who make the rules

 

 

sometimes I think most Poets

might be primadonnas

 

 

Don’t just post poems

for other people to compliment you

You should read other people’s poems

and comment

 

 

(I read this one today

by a poet posting in a group)

 

Do this, don’t do that

can’t you read the rules

 

 

You shouldn’t just like a poem

you should comment too

 

 

(I’ve heard that one more

than once)

 

Do this, don’t do that

can’t you read the rules

 

 

Wait four days between posts

It’s unnecessary to like comments

No links . . .

 

 

Do this

don’t do that

can’t you read the rules

 

 

One post a day

 

 

Do this

don’t do that

can’t you read the rules

 

 

I only like to post my own pictures

 

 

Do this

don’t do that

can’t you read the rules

 

 

No links

 

 

Do this

don’t do that

can’t you read the rules

 

 

Because I received too many submissions already

deadline to submit is now closed . . . there’s always next time

 

 

Do this

don’t do that

can’t you read your own rules

 

 

Platform is to provide book reviews

connect Poets, Writers

Small Press Publishers and Kindle Authors

with their readers

 

 

Do this

don’t do that

can’t you read the rules

 

 

I don’t see things in black and white

If I did I know I would be missing so much

 

 

Even my own rules

have exceptions to the rules

 

 

Sometimes times, people, things change

and when they do the rules should  to

 

 

My world is rainbow colored

and I love it like that

 

 

the only rules I like to adhere to

and sometimes they are hard to follow

 

 

practice acts of kindness and love

create and spread joy

act with an open heart,  non-harming manner

 

 

Imagine if there were less restrictive rules

and more encouragement

 

 

If I’ve offended you

please don’t be

 

 

I’m not offended

by your rules

 

 

just wanted you to know

it’s sometimes hard to follow the rules

 

 

Like Flower said

to Bambi

You can call me that

if you want to

 

 

 

 

 

tags: best| poem| poetry| rules| words about rules|

About mindfulnesswalks

Publicist| Citizen Journalist| Host| Mindfulness Walks| Virtual Cafe|Poet| Writer| Artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

