the best things to think about before falling asleep|


the best things to think about before falling asleep| top ten things to think about before falling asleep|

I love to see what other people are searching| on google| . . . I used to ask jeeves| but now cutting the middle man out .  .  . not by choice mind you  . . .  I google| it my self. To my astonishment there were over 1,020,000,000 other people wondering| the best things to think about before falling asleep|: here is what I came up with:

10.  I am safe| . . . Keep rolling that one around in your mind.  Why?  Keeping your mind in a relaxed state is important if you want to induce sleep.  Here’s another one.

9.  I am ok| . . . Here’s another one that I find helpful.  Your mind| has a mind of it’s own.  You’ll find those automatic| pop-up| thoughts| wanting to disrupt your peaceful| mind state.  So just replace whatever unwanted thought comes up with Iam safe| I am ok|.   (Also helpful when you wake up in the middle of the night — guaranteed to work to keep your mind relaxed and you will fall back asleep)

8.  Make sure your room is cool, dark, quiet enough, on your bed, laying on your back, eyes closed:  follow the breath 3x half smiling.   On the in breath think:  I feel the air going in my nose as I inhale; and on the out breath, think: I feel the air going out my nose as I exhale.

7.  Now follow the breath 3x half smiling.  This time place your hands on your stomach.  And on the in breath think: I feel my belly rise as I inhale; and on the out breath think: I feel my belly flatten as I exhale.

6.  Now add a place that you love to go to.  One that makes you feel very peaceful and happy.  A place you like to enjoy the view and seek refuge.   Imagine you are there right now.

5.  If you’d like you can imagine what you are wearing to go there and driving, flying, or boating there.   I sometimes imagine an imaginary outfit right down to the shoes . . . only do this if it relaxes you . . . then walking down the stairs to my car . . . and driving somewhere . . . again, only do this if this relaxes| you . . . for me I fall asleep before I get there 😉

4.  Check in with your body| and see how it is doing.  Sound silly?  Breathe in 2x to each body area.  For example on the in breath I breath into my head and neck; on the outbreath: my head and neck relax into my pillow;  Letting go to the tension, your troubles, just relax into the bed and into the pillow and totally let yourself go.   Repeat this until that body area feels free of tension. Then Do this with your shoulders; your arms, and work your way down through your body.

3.  the best things to think about before falling asleep| again: Relax your body by breathing into each body area, repeat until you feel the tension has been released, then move to the next area;

2.   Follow the breath half smiling  . . . alternating paying attention| to the sensation of your breath through your nose| . . . alternating paying attention| to the sensation of the breath through your belly| and alternately add . . . I am safe . . . I am ok.

1.  With your eyes still closed, in a cool, dark, quiet room, imagine you are at a place you feel safe|, happy| and at peace|.  A place where you are free of responsibilities and love to seek refuge.

tags:

the best things to think about before falling asleep| top ten things to think about before falling asleep| how to fall asleep| best ways to fall asleep| best how to fall asleep blog| best|  Cindi Silva| Cindy Silva| Youtube| videos| tapes| full body relaxation| meditate| best mindfulness blogs| best mindfulness teachers| best sleep expert| mindfulness| imagery| happy place| happy| peaceful| refuge| breathe| follow the breath| half smiling| how to follow the breath| author| writer| walk & meditate| crab cove| categories| jon kabat-zinn| jon kabat zinn| lance armstrong| livestrong blog| eckhart tolle

About mindfulnesswalks

Publicist| Citizen Journalist| Host| Mindfulness Walks| Virtual Cafe|Poet| Writer| Artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

